My Honest Review of Hulu+ Live TV

I recently took part of the popular movement called cord cutting. Cord Cutting is known as the process of cancelling or cutting your cable TV providers service, by choosing to go with a fully streaming service. For a fully streaming service you do not need a clunky TV box from your cable provider that would would be renting by the month, in addition to your standard monthly bill! All you need for Netflix, Disney+ , or Hulu+ is a wifi connection and your TV or device to stream with.

In this article I will analyze Hulu+ and compare its quality and price to my previous Comcast Xfinity TV service.

Lets start with the price.

We have two different live TV plans to choose from: 

  • Hulu + Live TV for $54.99/month
  • Hulu (No Ads) + Live TV for $60.99/month

The price sure beats my $70.99/month Xfinity service plus renting an additional $9.95/month box for my second TV.

Now lets talk about the content/channels you get:

Hulu+ Live TV provides roughly 65 channels including many east and west versions of certain channels. It has all the standard channels your cable company would provide including the additional channels we all know and love like TLC, FX, and the Food Network!

I have had Hulu+ for about a month now and have not noticed any channel that I used to watch that is not provided by Hulu+.

Other Hulu+ Features:

  • 50 hours of DVR space (that really is a ton!)
  • Access to all Hulu shows/movies provided by a standard Hulu membership
  • Ability to pause and “start from beginning” any live broadcast (this is something that is really awesome when you are finishing up something, and in a rush to sit down and relax to watch a live broadcast but you are about 10 minutes too late!)

What Equipment do I need to use Hulu+?

You will need a Smart TV (nearly every TV manufactured now will be Smart and able to be connected to Wifi to stream services like this.

Oh no, I have a “dumb” TV that is about 5 years old! If that is what is going through your mind right now you are similar to me! You and I both must use a Roku or Amazon Fire Cube to make your entertainment system “Smart!”

I personally use a Roku for my TV. Adding a Roku is extremely simple and cheap. You simply plug it in to a USB port on your TV and one will cost you around $30. No need to pay a recurring rental fee for a clunky TV provider box!

Final thoughts

I have quite enjoyed my Hulu+ Live TV thus far and plan on sticking with streaming instead of the ancient ages of cable TV service providers. I find it very easy to use and think it is just as good many of the overpriced cable providers.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started